Exact definitions and answers will vary with each insurance company and each kind of insurance.
An agent can assess your needs, explain state and federal rules and laws, and do all the work for you to gather rates, available options, and benefit information.
In Oregon for groups (1-50) and in Washington for groups (1-50) the medical and dental rates are the same with, or without an agent. Most insurance companies prefer that clients work with agents who can help answer questions and communicate contract changes, etc.
In Oregon you need one employee who is eligible for insurance; however, the one employee who is eligible has to be someone other than the owner or the owner’s spouse.
In Washington, you need one employee who is eligible for insurance, and at least one needs to enroll.
Yes, the owner is considered an employee for insurance purposes. But someone other than the owner or the owner’s spouse must enroll.
Yes, the owner of a company is required to enroll, unless they have other medical/dental insurance
Most insurance companies require the employer to contribute a minimum of 50% of the employees’ premium. The employer is not required to contribute any portion of the employees’ spouse and dependent premium.
A normal turn-around time would be five to ten working days. However, sometimes rates can be obtained within 48 hours when you are working to meet a deadline.
You need to offer insurance to all eligible, full-time employees. However, employees who have other insurance are usually allowed to decline and do not have to enroll.
Eligible employees are those employees who have been hired as full-time, work 17.5 - 40 hours or more per week, and have satisfied their waiting period.
All eligible employees need to enroll, unless they have other medical coverage; i.e., coverage through their spouse, Medicare, Medicaid, OHP, WBHP, etc.
On a small group plan in Oregon (1-50) and Washington (1-50), health statements are not required. You may not be excluded because of health reasons.
This varies with insurance companies in Oregon and Washington. Depending on the insurance company; you can be a brand new business, or are required to have been in business anywhere from two months to one full year. An agent can help direct you to the plan(s) available depending on how long you have been in business.
Yes, if you have twenty (20) or more employees on payroll, regardless of whether-or-not those employees are eligible for the group health plan. Full-time employees are counted as one employee; however, part-time employees are counted, for example, as ½ employee or ¼ employee, depending on how many hours per week the employee works.
In Oregon, if you have fewer than 20 full-time equivalent employees, you are required to offer nine months of medical state continuation. Washington does not have a state continuation requirement.